Second Season of IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy kicks off in Agartala


India's Premier Domestic Cricket Tournament for the Blind kicks off in Agartala on Thursday

Sixty seven matches, 24 teams, 11 venues, 3 months, that’s what is on offer here. The most anticipated time of the year is upon us with the Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI), affiliated to World Blind Cricket Ltd (WBC), hosting its second edition of the National level T20 tournament, the Nagesh Trophy. It is organized by CABI with support from IndusInd Bank. This tournament is held in fond memory of late SP Nagesh, who was the Founder Trustee of the Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled and also the former President of CABI.

The second edition will be held across India in 12 venues, namely Agartala, Lucknow, Pune, Ahmedabad, Bhopal, Kochi, Ludhiana, Mysore, Ajmer, Faridabad, Chennai and Puducherry. Twenty four teams, comprising of 336 players, will clash against each other in the battle to be the best. After the initial round of league matches, in which the teams are divided into two divisions (Elite and Plate) and four groups respectively of six teams each, the top three teams from the two Elite groups and the top team from the two Plate groups will qualify for the quarter-finals. The winners of the two semifinals that follow the quarterfinals, will play each other in the final to decide the winner of the second edition of the Nagesh Trophy.

The inaugural edition of Nagesh Trophy, 2018-19 was won by Odisha, who defeated Andhra Pradesh in the final. It was a closely fought affair with Odisha prevailing in a thriller, winning the match by 14 runs. The match was hosted at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Mr. Abhishek Dalmiya, Hon Secretary, Cricket Association of Bengal. Mr. Mahantesh G K, President, CABI and WBC, Mr. John David, General Secretary, CABI and Mr. Rajanish Henry, Chairman of IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy, along with the representatives from IndusInd Bank graced the occasion.

After being sent into bat, Odisha scored 205 runs for the loss of 8 wickets. Pankaj Bhue(B3), from Odisha, scored 94 which helped Odisha pose a challenging total. He was eventually named the man of the match for his heroics. Andhra Pradesh, chasing a daunting target, could only manage to score 191. Odisha became the first team to lay their hands on the Nagesh Trophy.

After the successful completion of the Nagesh Trophy 2018-19, this season, we have the new addition in the Manipur state team. The cash reward of INR One Lakh will be given to the winners. The runners will be given INR 75,000 while the two losing semi-finalists will receive 40,000 each. The first match of this tournament will be inaugurated at the Umakanta Mini Stadium, Agartala, with the matches being played from 7th to 9th November. The the league stage of the tournament will end with the matches in Puducherry, with 5 matches from December 18th to 20th. The venues for the knockout stages and the final will be announced in due course of time.

Let the tournament begin.

© 2020 CABI. All Rights Reserved.