Ton-up Gambhir Singh stars in season opener

The Second edition of IndusInd Nagesh Trophy kicked off in the small town of Tripura, Agartala today with an opening ceremony. Many dignitaries from various parts of Tripura made sure their presence was felt as Tripura became the new venue to host IndusInd Nagesh Trophy matches this season.

Mr Debasis Bhattacharji, - Assistant Director, Sports department of Tripura, Timir Chandra - Tripura Cricket Association secretary, Krishna Roy Ganguly, - Principal IVH girls School, Brajahari Debnath - President ATBC, Chairman Cricket for the blind in Tripura (CABT), Mr Mahantesh GK - President Cricket association for the blind in India (CABI) and World Blind Council (WBC), Chinmoy Mondal - East Zone secretary, Cricket association for the blind in India were the dignitaries who graced the occasion today.

The customary ritual was performed before the inaugural match was started, with Mr Mahantesh facing the ball from Mr Debasis Bhattacharji.

The inaugural match of the 2nd edition of the IndusInd Nagesh Trophy was played between the hosts Tripura and Uttarakhand. The hosts won the toss and put Uttarkhand in. What followed after was mayhem as the Uttarakhand openers Gambhir Singh Chauhan and Aman Deep took the Tripura bowlers to the cleaners by scoring at will. Gambhir Singh smashed the first-ever century of the 2nd edition of IndusInd Nagesh Trophy 2019-20. He scored an unbeaten 138, which was studded with 21 fours and 2 sixes. Aman Deep at the other end gave him good support to remain unbeaten on 55 as Uttarakhand ended up with a mammoth total of 218 without losing any wicket.

Tripura was always under pressure chasing a huge total, they started well, with the opener Rajendra scoring positively. They started losing wickets at the other end and that dented their chances in the chase and Uttarakhand bowlers kept it tight and never allowed them to make a comeback. Gambhir also starred with the ball, taking a wicket and was a live-wire in the field. Tripura folded up for 122, under just 14 overs, losing by a huge margin of 96 runs.

Gambhir Singh Chauhan was unanimously awarded the Man of the Match for his all-round performance. The kind of start, the 2nd edition of the IndusInd Nagesh Trophy wanted. Tomorrow Madhya Pradesh will lock horns with Bihar in the second match.

© 2020 CABI. All Rights Reserved.