Karnataka stun defending champions Odisha

Karnataka have made an emphatic statement in the ongoing second season of the Nagesh trophy by stunning defending champions Odisha by 10 runs. Earlier in the day, Shri Upendra Tiwari, Minster of Sports, Govt of Uttar Pradesh, invited the four captains from Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Odisha and Goa along with Mrs. Garima Choudhary, President of  Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association for the Blind (UPCAB) and John David, General Secretary , Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI) to their residence and inaugurated the matches. Odisha won the toss and opted to bowl first. And their decision had an immediate impact as Karnataka lost their captain Sunil in the very first over. What followed next was an unbelieveable act of resurgence from two India internationals Lokesh and Basappa as they stitched together a century partnership. Basappa (B1) bought up his 50 while Lokesh scored a stroke filled unbeaten 94 as Karnataka finished on 172 for the loss of four wickets in 20 overs.

Chasing a par score Odisha started cautiously and put on a 50 run stand for the opening wicket. Karnataka struck at regular intervals as they managed to choke the Odisha chase and increase the required run rate. The game was heading towards a tense finish as Odisha needed 53 from the last 4 overs. Captain Sunil held his nerve in the last over as Karnataka managed to win a thriller by 10 runs.

Brief Scores:

Karnataka : 172/4 in 20 overs

Lokesh 94* Basappa 54

Pankaj 1/20 Sukram 1/21


Odisha 162/5 in 20 overs

Pankaj 56 Sukram 20

Manjunath 2/5


Man of the match : Lokesh


© 2020 CABI. All Rights Reserved.