7 cities to host the 5th edition of IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy National T20 Cricket Tournament for the Blind 2022-23

Belagavi, 30th January 2023: The 5th edition of the IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy National T20 Cricket Tournament for the Blind 2022-23 will be held from January 31st to March 10th in 7 different cities of the country, announced the Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI) and Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled. 27 state and union territory teams and Railways will be part of the most prestigious tournament in blind cricket in the country. Chandigarh, Belgavi, Pondicherry, Chennai, Ajmer, Jabalpur and Mumbai will be hosting the 69 matches of the 5th edition of the Nagesh Trophy.

The teams are divided into 6 groups in which 4 groups have five teams each and two groups have 4 teams each based on the ranking of the previous edition of the tournament. The PCA Stadium in Chandigarh will host Group F matches from January 31st to February 2nd which has Chandigarh, Manipur, Assam and Railways. The tournament which shift to the KSCA Ground, Belgavi, Karnataka for Group B matches from February 5th to 9th which comprises of West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Goa and the current runners up, Karnataka. Group D matches will be hosted by Pondicherry from February 11th to 15th where matches will be played between Haryana, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat and Pondicherry. Chennai, Tamil Nadu will host Group A matches and Rajasthan will host Group C Matches Ajmer. The matches of both these groups will be played from February 13th to 17th. Group A will have Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand and defending champions Andhra Pradesh and Group C consists of Rajasthan, Delhi, Odisha, Telangana and Jammu & Kashmir. The final group stage matches will be hosted by Madhya Pradesh at Jabalpur where Chhattisgarh, Bihar, Punjab and Tripura will play in Group E from February 19th to 21st. The Super 8s, semifinals will be played from March 6th and the finals will be played on March 10th. All the Super 8s, semifinals and finals will be played at Mumbai.

The inauguration ceremony of the Group B matches will be held on February 4th at Maheshwari School for the Blind, Belgavi, Karnataka. A total of 10 Matches will be played at KSCA Cricket Ground, Ramteerth Nagar Belagavi from February 05,2023 to February 0, 2023. The host Karnataka will start the tournament with a match against Goa. There will be everyday 2 matches and people of Belagavi are welcome to cheer the blind cricketers in large number.

Andhra Pradesh are the defending champions of Nagesh Trophy while Karnataka are the runners up. Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled will be hosting the tournament under the aegis of Cricket Association for the Blind in India.

Speaking on the announcement of this year's Nagesh Trophy **Dr Mahantesh G Kivadasannavar, Founder Managing Trustee of Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled & President, CABI** said, "Nagesh Trophy is the most prestigious tournament for the Blind in the country. The board has made sure that all the players will have a very good experience in this year's tournament as it will be travelling to seven cities of the country. I wish all the teams the very best for the tournament and everyone performs the best to their abilities."

Nagesh Trophy was launched in the memory of SP Nagesh, Founder President, Cricket Association for the Blind in India and Founder Trustee, Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled in the year 2018. The launch of the tournament brought together the entire blind cricket community on one bigger platform, supporting the cause and creating a milestone in Blind Cricket history.

For more information on Tournament Contact:

Mr E John David – General Secretary, Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI) on 9449864785

Mr Nirnajan - Media Coordinator CABI on 8073358679