Samarthanam - CABI organizes

Bilateral and Triangular Cricket Series for the Blind 2018

played among India, England and Sri Lanka

Join the Blind Cricket Series in Bangalore and
Cheer for our blind cricket players!

About Samarthanam:
Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled is a non-profit organization empowering visually impaired, disabled and underprivileged people in India to build an inclusive society free from discrimination and inequity, through its initiatives and projects aimed to serve the society.

For more details Whatsapp on +91 9449864780

About CABI:
Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI), the cricketing arm of Samarthanam, governs cricket tournaments in India and is the apex body organizing cricket for the blind. It is affiliated to World Blind Cricket Ltd (WBC) encouraging visually impaired cricket players showcase talent and attain greater heights in cricket.

Cricket for the Blind:
Cricket for the Blind aids in enhancing the players self-confidence, encourage sportsmanship and focus on skills rather disabilities. The initiative also sensitizes public by inducing a social responsibility to respect people with disabilities, understand their needs and eventually help them merge with mainstream.

World Champions India will lock horns with England and Sri lanka in a month long home season starting from the 2nd of October. The hosts will first play a 3 match T20I series with the Three Lions before the Lankan Lions join them for a Tri series. The home season concludes with a 5 match T20I series and 3 match ODI series with Sri Lanka. The Indian team is currently undergoing a training camp in Bengaluru.

Ludhiana: A meeting of all states under north zone was organized by Cricket

Association for Blind in India which was chaired by Mr. Shailender

Yadav, Secretary North Zone in Ludhiana on 28-07-2019. The meeting was

attended by the representatives of Delhi, Haryana, Jammu & Kashmir,

Punjab, Utter Pradesh and Uttrakhand.

The main points of discussion were, organizing various tournaments in

the zone and how to make the north zone a strong zone in the field of

cricket for Blind. All states also agreed to Promote the cricket for

Blind girls and to hold a national level for them in the month of

December 2019 in Delhi. All states were also informed about the

initiative taken by the zone for improving the cricket ball used by

a visually impaired person for playing the game and new sample balls were displayed

to all the state’s representatives. Mr. Gurpreet, President of Punjab

cricket board thanked CABI for giving them the chance to hold the

meeting. He also thanked all member states for attending the


Clinical India beat Sri Lanka in the first ODI. 

Odisha beat Andhra Pradesh by 14 runs in a thrilling final here at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata to be crowned the inaugural champions of IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy season 2018-19.

Earlier in the day, Andhra Pradesh won the toss and opted to bowl first. Their decision was justified as Odisha lost early wickets without having much on the board. Tournament finals create champion players and it was Pankaj Bhue's turn to live up to the moniker as he alongside Lalprasad Soren smashed the Andhra bowlers all around the park as Odisha ended up with 205/8 in their 20 overs.

Chasing a huge target Andhra Pradesh openers Venkateswara Rao and Tandava Krishna got them off to a flying start. Once the openers fell the scoreboard pressure of the finals got to the Andhra players and even though Durga Rao tried his best, his efforts went in vain as Andhra Pradesh fell short of the target by 14 runs.

The presentation ceremony was attended by Mr. Abhishek Dalmiya, Cricket Association of Bengal. Mr. Mahantesh G K President Cricket Association for the Blind in India and World Blind Cricket, Mr. John David, General Secretary CABI and Mr. Rajneesh Henry, Chairman IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy along with the representatives from IndusInd Bank.

Speaking during the presentation ceremony Mr. Abhishek Dalmiya annouced full support to Blind Cricket , “Cricket Association of Bengal will always remain positive to provide regular support to the players and the organizers “ and promised to provide the ground for important matches including the finals when the World Cup will be hosted by Cricket Association for the Blind in India next year.

Mahantesh G K mentioned “Samarthanam, Cricket Association for the Blind in India and its affliates will do everything possible to empower visually impaired cricketers irrespective of the level of cricket played.

 Cash rewards of INR One Lakh was given to winners. The runners up bagged INR 75,000 while the two losing semifinalist took home 40,000 each.

Brief Scores:

Odisha 205/8 in 20 overs. Pankaj Bhue 94, Lalprasad Soren 45. Ajay Reddy 3/24

Andhra Pradesh 191/5 in 20 overs. Venkateshwara Rao 65, Tandava Krishna 53. Tapaon Gauda 1/29

Odisha won by 14 runs.

Man of the Match : Pankaj Bhue

Hosts Andhra Pradesh recorded a comfortable win over Tamil Nadu in another Southern Derby here today to book their place in the semifinals of the inaugural IndusInd Bank Nagesh trophy season 2018-19. Tamil Nadu won the toss and decided to bat first. But with the Andhra bowlers bowling at the very best the visiting batsmen couldn't get in for a long time as they were bowled out for 122 in the 20th over. For the hosts Durga Rao was the star performer picking up 3 wickets.

Chasing a relatively small target Andhra Pradesh lost both their openers for nought but a well composed half century from Durga Rao steered them home with almost 7 overs and 6 wickets remaining.

With this win Andhra Pradesh will take on Karnataka in the semifinals, while Odisha will play Jharkhand.

Brief Scores

Tamil Nadu : 122 all out in 19.3 overs. Arun Kumar 38. Durga Rao 3/12. 

Andhra Pradesh : 125/4 in 13.1 overs. Durga Rao 52*, Prem Kumar 33. Ramesh 1/8.

Andhra Pradesh won by 6 wickets.

Man of the match : Durga Rao.

© 2020 CABI. All Rights Reserved.